What to do after rejection?

ea00

I am a double-major undergraduate Chemistry and Biochemistry student with a 2.6 GPA. I applied for Biochemistry and Biophysics PhD programs and have gotten two rejections thus far (out of six) and no interviews. I am starting to realize that I might be rejected from all the schools that I've applied to this year.

I have three years lab of experience with two pending publications, one first and the other second author. My application is strong except for my GPA, I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to spend this next year, until I can reapply? What will increase my chances of getting in to a good school?

I still have to option of staying as an undergraduate and getting a Biology degree as a triple major, or I can apply for a master's in biotechnology (1 year program)?

Any opinions on the matter would be great.

Thanks

I'd say the tough truth is that your chances are not good at top schools. Many graduate schools (as opposed to the individual departments) have a 3.0 minimum GPA requirement for all incoming applicants. If you are a super amazing candidate and have a POI willing to go to bat for you, they might be able to get a waiver on a case-by-case basis. From personal experience, I know that UWashington doesn't even read applications with a GPA under 3.0.

Some schools are starting to de-emphasize GPA this year (UCSF, for example), but sub-3.0 is probably outside of that range as well. My advice would be to take classes to get over 3.0 if possible (can cost a lot of money, depending on how many units you'll need). Other options would be to work with a PI willing to go to bat for you or look at a masters program instead of a PhD, although many of them will have the same minimum GPA requirements as well.