Masters in Public Policy advise/opinion needed.

Dawwr

Hello everybody,

I completed my bachelors last year. I'd planned on applying to numerous public policy programs around the country, but extenuating circumstances arose and I was unable to conduct any research about programs. I was only able to apply to the MPSA program at the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University.

My undergraduate CGPA is 3.94. I scored 164 on my GRE quantitative section, 160 on the verbal section and a 5.5 on the writing section. I had very strong letters of recommendations from my professors and decent involvement and leadership credentials.

I spoke with some people, and they have suggested that the MPSA program at the Bush School is a 4th tier program. They suggested that with my credentials, I can easily make it into some of the highest ranked public policy programs. To be honest, I've been very underwhelmed about the MPSA program at the Bush School after talking to some people. Do you think I should wait for the next admission cycle to start and apply to better schools, or should I go ahead with the MPSA program at the Bush School? Does anybody know anything about the Bush School?

I'm no expert. But you've gotten quality advice. If you can use this year to get quality work experience, all the better. There's a very strong bias against applicants straight out of college, but I bet that even with that bias you could get into some top-notch schools. Throw in more WE and you'll be good.

I'm no expert. But you've gotten quality advice. If you can use this year to get quality work experience, all the better. There's a very strong bias against applicants straight out of college, but I bet that even with that bias you could get into some top-notch schools. Throw in more WE and you'll be good.