San Diego

nocturne

Oh, wow! Congratulations!

I do have an acceptance; the tricky part for me would be securing funding since I'm an international student (well, at an American college: a Canadian on a student-visa). They're looking into possibly having me TA for the French department, though I don't know if my French is good enough for that. We'll see. I'm going to be visiting the campus on Monday and Tuesday of next week, meeting with Rachel Mayberry and Robert Kluender, amongst others. If I went there, I'm about 95% sure that I would go for the interdisciplinary program in cognitive-science.

It looks like a great program, though, and whatever happens to me (I do have other options), I'm thrilled for you!

Would you mind telling me a little about your background? GPA? GRE scores? Experience?

I'm not the original poster, but as I also got in there:

GPA: 3.68

GRE scores: 730 Q, 630 V, 5.5 W

Background a mix of linguistics and cognitive-science. Two semesters of lab-work, one in language-acquisition and the other in cognition and perception. Writing an honours-thesis in linguistics.

So I toured the department this week. Academically, it's fabulous. Easily my best fit. Fascinating people, both professors and grad-students. Lots of totally nifty research coming out of there. Boundaries between disciplines so porous that they almost don't exist (as an interdisciplinary-minded student such as me highly appreciates).