Good Programs for Comparative Democratization

Hi.

I'm considering phd programs to apply to for 2014, and I'm having trouble figuring out which programs might be a good fit. I'm interested in comparative democratization, democratic transition, and democratic theory (feeding into the others). 

Clearly Stanford seems to have outstanding faculty in this field — or a hugely disproportionate number of authors of papers that I cited in my undergraduate work on the subject. NYU is similar. However, digging through faculty at other schools whose other features I'm interest in is a little daunting. Is there anyone with similar interests that could recommend other programs?

I'm also fairly certain Stanford is out of my range, and maybe NYU too. I completed my undergraduate degree in polisci as an adult, while working full-time (after living and working abroad in IT for several years). My overall GPA was 3.4, but in-major it was 3.7. I haven't taken the GRE yet, and I intend to work my ass off for a good score (math shouldn't be a problem, my background is in physics before polisci), and I think I can write a pretty strong SOP, but still... 

So I'm looking for any lower-top-25 or lower programs that might be a good fit. It doesn't mean I'm not going to apply to Stanford or NYU, but I want to be realistic.

Thanks!!

In addition to clarifying whether you have a region of interest, and if so which one, I'd think about whether you want formal/quantitative approaches to democratization (in which case NYU, Yale, and Stanford would be top choices) or more comparative-historical approaches, in which case I would rank Harvard, Princeton, Chicago, and Northwestern quite highly. If you're looking for schools that are somewhat lower ranked, Texas is also very strong on these issues for Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East. Ohio State also does quite well on some regions, including Latin America, and Cornell might be worth a look as well depending on your region of interest.