Research Experience for Grad School

yoconman

Hi everyone, I'm currently a sophomore at the University of Texas in Austin in the ECE department who is trying to plan ahead.  Right now my desire is to get a phd and then hopefully become a professor one day.  I have just declared my major tracks (there are 7 at UT for ECE) as nanotechnology for my primary and computer architecture/embedded systems for my secondary.  I realize that in order to get into a phd program, I need research experience.  This semester I have been talking with my embedded systems professor quite often, and believe that there might be an opportunity to be a part of his research group this summer on a project.  However, my main passion is in nanotechnology, but I am unsure that at this point in my studies I would be able to join in any research projects dealing with nano tech. My question is about whether research experience in embedded systems would be helpful for my main focus which is nano tech.  Also, when eventually apply to a grad school, should I at that point have fully committed myself to nanotechnology?

I am a super senior is Aerospace engineering at UT Austin. I think that any research experience will help with grad school applications, but before you commit to the embedded systems prof, you should look into the professors that do nano tech and email them to see if they need help. They understand that as a sophomore you don't have much expertise, and that they will have to train you. They also will look at you as cheap labor.  It will be a good experience. Either way, more research will not hurt your application.