Value of Experience

ShiningInShadows

Here's a question for all of you out there in internetland that may have been through this (or are going through this)...

I suppose you could say I am a non-traditional student. I am in my post-late-20s (interpretted early 30s and in denial) and finished my (painfully ridiculously long 3.5 year) Master's degree in 2008. I took a break from school because I just couldn't stomach it much any more and an awesome job opportunity openned up for me. I work in prison rehabilitation and you can often do this kind of work with a Master's degree so I jumped at an opportunity to work at a internationally-esteemed program in New England (even though I hate it up here, it's that good of a job).

So now I'm five-ish years later with more clinical experience than I otherwise would have (I did two years working full-time in a counseling program last time I was in school) had if I went straight from my (hellish) Master's program to a PhD, and a few publications as well. Now many of my senior collegues are insane about experience over credentials, but then again some of them are (on the extreme end) anti-research and all stopped at the Master's level (in the state I am working in you can still become a licensed psychologist without a doctoral degree).

The question I've been wondering is how much does this clinical experience give me an edge/advantage/hope/snowball's chance in you-know-where? As part of my interview strategy I have been planning on this balancing out my less than stellar psych gre scores (because the structure of the eye has almost no bearing on what I do, for instance!).

I'm just a lowly prospective candidate myself right now, so I don't know if I can really help you. However, I hate seeing a thread ignored, so I'll give it a shot!