Is getting a PhD necessary?

HappyEngineer

I am an undergrad senior in ME. I am planning on to get my master degree but not sure if PhD is really worthwhile. I am not planning on to go into academia. I don't think I have what it takes to become a professor. 

Edited by HappyEngineer

PhD's are for people who love the topics they are studying and who want to do research. You never get a PhD for the money, but for the careers they can lead to. Usually academia and high-end research positions in national labs/industry require a PhD.

What kind of career are you looking for?

I want to say that I love to do cutting edge research however I am kind of a slow and laid back person. That's why sometimes I am concerned of the demanding and stressful nature of the academia career. A regular engineering job would be a better fit for me, I think. After watching the movie Prometheus, I feel it is really cool that the flying gadgets are able to explore and scan the cave autonomously,and also the automated and intelligent surgical machine that can do any surgical operations. I wish I can be one of those future engineers that can turn Sci-Fi into real gadgets.    

I think a Master's would be more than adequate for what you want to do. You can get into some national labs (Lincoln Lab, JPL, Sandia, etc.) doing research with just a Masters, and the atmosphere is much more laid back than in academia (40 hour work weeks). The jobs are very competitive though.

That's very interesting of what you said. You seems to be very knowledgeable. I don't think I have a chance to get in those national labs. I am an international student. From what I heard those places don't consider international students for national security reasons.