The (un)official Duke Sanford MPP Thread!

Hi everyone! I'm a current first-year student at Duke University's Sanford School of Public Policy and I remember that this time last year was challenging trying to decide among various options. As such, I thought I'd get on here and try to offer any and all insights that I have on why I ended up choosing Duke. Feel free to write back to this thread about anything you want - program components, curriculum, specializations, electives, extracurriculars, people, Durham as a city, social life, anything - and I will be happy to help. It may not be an instant response, but I'll certainly get back to you all as soon as possible.

Cheers,
MPPBlueDevil

Hi MPPBlueDevil,

Thanks so much for starting this thread.  My fiancee and I have  been accepted to the program and are looking forward to attending the open house on April 5th.

I've looked on the website and have had difficulty finding employment statistics.  Specifically, I'd like to know what the average or mean starting salary is for graduates.  Do you have access to these statistics or know where they can be found?

I'd also like to go apartment-hunting when I'm in Durham for the open house.  We were sent a list of housing options shortly after receiving our admissions letters, but it looks like the information is a little out of date (circa 2010).  In talking with a couple of current students, it sounds like a lot of new apartment complexes have come up more recently.  Do you know if there is an updated list of places where students tend to stay?  If not, I'd still appreciate any first-hand or anecdotal experience you may have.

Regards

Hey Juhual, 

Great questions!  I think there might be information on internship and/or job placements in the career services section of Sanford's website.  I'm not sure about starting salary but I know that a lot of folks go into government (at all levels), NGOs, and the private sector (consulting etc.).