Vanderbilt IGP program

lt88

Hello to all! Long time forum lurker and aspiring PhD student here, I have a few questions for those who have applied to biological science and biomedical programs.

First, a little background on myself:

I am currently preparing my application for Vanderbilt's Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in biomedical and biological sciences. I have a degree in Kinesiology with a minor in Clinical Physiology. I feel that Vandy's IGP program is good fit to me because of the umbrella of areas of focus and options for research. One fallacy of mine is an ever changing interest in subjects. This is best exemplified from my undergraduate studies. 2 years as a music performance major, 1 year as an international business major, and 2.5 years with kinesiology and life sciences. In case you are wondering, yes, I graduated with 192 hours...ew. My undergrad institution had very, very limited opportunities for research and most of my experience is in physical therapy observations and a prosthetic/amputee internship. Another fallacy is GPA. A very unimpressive 3.3 overall (This is due to very average/poor academic performance in my first 3 years in other majors) but major GPA of 3.88. To combat this lack of spectacular academic performance, I am taking more physics and chemistry courses as a transient student to improve some marks and stay sharp.

So I guess these are my questions:

1. How do I get involved in research with very limited experience? This seems like an uphill battle.

2. How to I make myself a more marketable candidate?

3. How much is research and previous publications considered for these programs? Obviously these are a plus..but how much so?

4. Anyone with previous experience applying to this program? What are your experiences?

Sorry for the lengthy post. It has been a slow day at work and I've had plenty of time to think. This is the result :P