trouble with marks (humanities phd)

I am a first year student in a humanities phd program at a Canadian university. So to be clear, I am especially interested in the insights of those with knowledge of graduate studies in the humanities in North America. 

I am concerned that I should regard the somewhat less-than-stellar feedback that I have been receiving as a red flag. Now, I realize that there are other threads on this topic, but I still feel perplexed, particularly about how much I should attend to the marks that I receive on assignments vs. focusing solely on those that will appear on my transcript.