Advice for international students!

surlefil

Is anybody here a foreign student that has applied to a Ph.D. (or intends to do so)?

I would like to know if you have any advice for preparing the applications. I'm from Argentina and I want to apply to a Ph.D. in Aesthetics (continental). These would be some of the questions.

1) How should I show I'm a good student if the people that will read my application do not know anything about my university (like how good it is, what is a good GPA there, etc.)?

2) How should I choose the professors that will write my letters of recommendation?

3) How much do conference presentations, publications, etc. count as the journals in which I published are not very known in the US?

4) What should my profile be like? It may sound too general, but when you are not from the US it is not that easy to really be aware of what it is important to aware of!

Thank you!!

Hi Surlefil! I'm from Argentina as well!

Is anybody here a foreign student that has applied to a Ph.D. (or intends to do so)? yes, I have applied and been accepted for next fall :D

I would like to know if you have any advice for preparing the applications. I'm from Argentina and I want to apply to a Ph.D. in Aesthetics (continental). These would be some of the questions.

1) How should I show I'm a good student if the people that will read my application do not know anything about my university (like how good it is, what is a good GPA there, etc.)? What I did was to tell them in the SOP. I do not know how much they know my university, but you should show all over the place that, regardless the fact they don't know your school, you came out as an outstanding applicant. ;) In some applications I had to complete my average according to our system, you had a place to complete over how many marks your scores is. Anyway, you should get in touch with advisors beforehand and you can talk this out with them.