In need of some advice

sg_87

Hello all!

I just randomly came across this site in my GRE searches, so I figured I'd join in. :)

Right now I am a high school biology teacher at a very disadvantaged school (read: really bad place to work). I moved three states away for this job, and now I'm realizing that it's not what I want at all. So, I decided to go for grad school. I'm taking the biology GRE in three weeks (yikes!) and the general GRE in May.

I really thought that I wanted to teach. I am nearly 3 years out of college. Right now, I am getting my masters in education. I had an experience last semester where I was a GA for undergrad biology classes. I. LOVED. IT. It was so hard to leave, and now I'm realizing that leaving it was probably the worse decision I have ever made. I'm at a job I don't like, three states away from home, and even worse, I left a really awesome opportunity.

Now, here's my dilemma. Since I was going into education, I never did research in my undergrad. Student teaching was considered our research graduation requirement. The only reference I have is the professor I was a GA for. I'm not entirely sure that she would feel comfortable writing me a letter, though. Since it has been three years since I graduated, I am really not confident about either GRE.

Tell me truthfully - what chances do I have? The only thing I've got going for me right now is my undergrad GPA (3.8). I don't need to get into Ivy League, but I do want to get into a good school where I'll have a decent shot at becoming more than a high school teacher. (Maybe a university professor instead?) Any advice would be appreciated.

Please don't tell me "Oh you're in grad school for education. It'll be a piece of cake!" They are two completely different ball games. You can't compare football and tennis. Don't compare education grad school and biology grad school.