UCLA Chemistry vs. Northwestern Materials Phd

East45

Now, I'm an engineer in background so originally UCLA was more just to satisfy my current advisor.  However, during the visit I met an PI and lab that I completely loved.  The attitudes, people, and research is exactly what I want to do with my graduate career.  The advisor is also extremely well connected and very well known, meaning that finding employment afterwards shouldn't be a problem.  I can see myself learning a huge amount and keeping in touch with him for a long time afterwards.  I'd be doing mostly engineering and materials work in the lab, and many professors at my current institution have strongly recommended him.  

The downside?  I don't want a Chemistry degree, and I didn't really like the rest of the department.  UCLA also has a large amount of hoops to jump through for the degree and a low retention rate.  Plus, I'm just extremely worried about the job market for Chemistry phds right now, it just doesn't seem like something I should jump in to since I'm not sure what route I want to take after graduating.  It seems like it might be a very long, hard slog without much payoff, and I really don't have an interest in pure chemistry. That seems to defeat the purpose of getting a phd in chemistry, which should be to set myself up for a career of chemistry.  I've also lived in Southern California for my entire life so I'm wondering if a change of scenery would be beneficial.

Northwestern materials is exactly the kind of department I see myself excelling in.  I clicked with the department as a whole to a much greater extent than at UCLA, and the general themes of the program much better fit my interests.  It also has an extremely high retention rate and a very good time to degree average.  I also loved Chicago when visiting.  However, I didn't find a professor or lab I was as excited about to start in as at UCLA, but there were 5 or 6 I wouldn't mind working for.