Irvine vs Minnesota

TwistedCubic

I will try to make this brief, looking for any insight you may have. I currently live and work in Minnesota and trying to decide if I should leave the state for somewhere else and experience an adventure or decide on a program that is more suited to my background but with less funding.

Irvine 

-Statistics Ph.D. with funding

-Adventure and location (warm state without Minnesota winters), I know this is silly factor, but after living 25 years in Minnesota you would think the same.

-A doctoral program is a benefit, since I want to get my Ph.D. eventually.

- My background is in Math, not Statistics, So I would need to ramp up on the subject, but I think I would like it.

Minnesota

Masters in Mathematics w/ Emphasis in Education with partial funding

My background is in Math and I want to teach (college eventually), so the program more closely aligns, but its half funded. 

Don't have to move or sell my house or uproot.

I welcome any insight on the schools, or whatever to help me make a decision.

Adventure + funding + sun = Irvine is the obvious choice. To me, anyway! I was considering UCI for a while, and it seemed like a good place to be. My brother lives in Irvine and likes everything about it other than the high cost of living. The other consideration is that if you're getting a PhD eventually, you might as well do it all at once rather than pay for a Masters program now. 

If I were you (instead of being a random internet stranger!) I would go for the adventure because I think I would be much more likely to regret NOT choosing it, if that makes sense. 

Hi, one of my deciding factors is also the location, so here are some things to think about/my two cents:

1. Do you need a PhD to teach? If so, then UCI is the no-brainer... Why pay for an MS when you are eventually going the PhD route? It's not impossible to get a faculty appointment in a math department if you do a PhD in Statistics. In fact, it is quite common.