Is it possible to get a job as a software developer without a degree?

gaboak

• 3 weeks later...

I am glad you find it interesting Alphonse. I think I was driven mostly by desperation and that can't be the secret. The time I spent learning under very difficult circumstances was very valuable though.

Sending your resume will get you interviews, and showing your work will get you a job. When did you graduate?

I find that software development is unique in this aspect.  I do know a great deal of individuals who learned relevant skills in other disciplines and then found work in software development.  The career itself often seems more focused on proving yourself and your capabilities, rather than necessarily where you learned those skills and under what program.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey gaboak,

Sorry if this is coming late, I didn't notice you replied till now.

I finished a bachelors degree in 2009. I went to graduate school for 3 semesters after, but I withdrew because I couldn't decide on a thesis topic, and because I didn't want to spend all that money on another degree without known what I wanted to do more specifically for work. So, I'd say I've been out of school since 2011. I've been spending the last few years pursuing different CS subjects -- embedded systems engineering, QA, etc, though without ever landing a job.

Right now I'm working on learning Rails 3/4, Ember.js, Backbone.js, jQuery and other more front-end/client side stuff. I'm still working on putting together a portfolio -- I just want to make sure everything is really polished before I show it to someone. I 'm also apart of a ruby on rails study group. I get called by recruiters from time to time, but I just tell them I'm still doing some self-studying and when I'm really looking I'll let them know. So that's where I'm at right now.