Admitted afraid of crashing/reapply?

Shake

So I have to make a very tough decision and I’d like to know what people here think. I apologize for the very long post ion advance

• I am an international student (European)
  • I have a BS and an MS in Forestry Engineering (VERY strong degree in the hard sciences, 192 credits)
  • I am in my mid-thirties and completed my studies long ago so I don’t really remember all that much.
  • I have some professional experience as a forestry  engineer but never really  been in a leadership position so I don’t feel all that prepared in the technical sense (poor job market). I also have experience (3 years) as an instructor for forestry workers.

I applied to 4 schools and got admitted to 3 (the one left hasn’t released their results yet). I’ve been set on one program from the get go in school X. The program is a Phd in Civil Engineering with an emphasis on Water Resources.

I actually declined another offer (now  REALLY regretting it) because I got admitted to X and basically were told I had 99% chances of getting fully funded. One week before April 15th they tell me because of my low GPA I’ll be on probation the first semester but that I’m offered a combination of TA/RA position. The official letter states the offer for the first year and my POI told me via email that my funding schedule would be TA/RA the first two years and RA  from then on. Also I would have to TA a junior class in Hydraulics that very first semester.

Being on probation means I have to cover all tuition, fees and health insurance that first semester. (It’s a State school, not ridiculously crazy expensive but still a huge amount for us). If I remain in good standing (3.0 GPA) the probation will be lifted the second semester and I’ll get a tuition waiver. I have to take 9 credit hours each semester.

At this point I’m reconsidering the whole thing and thinking of not taking the offer and reapply to other schools next year and this is my reasoning: