Victorian Studies

Hi Everyone,

I am new here, and want to get in contact with some other Victorian-Edwardian literature grads. Is anyone planning on attending Dickens Universe/NAVSA or other conferences their first year? What about prep work for your grad program?

Cheers!

Hi, I'm a Victorianist! I'm attending LSU this fall.

From what I understand (which is, admittedly, very little) from my visit with the Victorian literature professors at LSU, LSU recently joined the Dickens Project.  Also, from what I understand, they encourage graduate students to submit a paper to win a chance to attend/speak(?) at Dickens Universe each year. I plan to do nothing my first year, but next summer I do plan to finish a paper on Dickens and submit it to them in the hopes that I am selected for this opportunity.

I was an MA student for three years and have been an adjunct for the past two, and have presented/chaired at a regional MLA conference every. single. year. and I'm exhausted. I returned a few weeks ago from the Midwest Victorian Studies Association conference where I was the only young had-not-yet-started-her-phd girl to speak at the conference. Frankly, I'm so exhausted by conferences right now that I plan to take my first year of school off conferences (though I am very interested in just attending the Sherlock Holmes conference at the Univ of Minnesota in August *just* as a spectator). Though I'm sure I will be interested in NAVSA at some point and really need to research it further. I've decided I am no longer attending regional MLAs, and want to commit to being more involved in Victorian-specific conferences in the future.

The phd girls at the MVSA conference told me to focus more on publications than conferences, so that is my priority right now.