Career Change?

antigravity

I am a tenured associate professor who teaches and does research in the field of strategy and international business. I enjoy research and have a successful career. But, I am faced with a dilemma.

I ended up studying business as an undergraduate as a result of doing what everyone else did during those years in my country. Followed everyone else in the graduating high school class so to speak, and ended up in the top business school in that country. Graduated as valedictorian, came to US to a top school to get MBA, got the PHD in another top school.

Now years later, I realize that I made a big mistake not following my dreams. I am very math and sciences oriented, and anything about airplanes, engines and such I find interesting. As a kid I grew up taking things apart and building and tinkering. As this point in my career I am toying with the idea of going back to school to some engineering PhD. But would that even be possible! Would I have to be an undergrad again!

What advice do you have? Probably, I should forget this all : ) .

I would suggest you take a couple of classes before changing your whole career at this point. You may realize it isn't all you thought it would be. I started studying mechanical engineering for my love of cars and airplanes and ended up getting into MEMS and microfluidics and somewhat regretting I haven't been more involved in electronics and computer engineering. I'm saying all this to say that once you get into the field you may not be as interested as you think you are. Don't throw away what you already have for something you are not sure about.

Another thing is that many universities will not accept PhD applicants who already have a PhD degree.