No idea how to approach

fsr2000

Hello all.

I'm fairly new at this, so I'll try my best, please don't be judgemental   :)

The reason I am writing this is that I need to perform my first ever mini-research for a class I'm having. The point of the class is to give students the first experience of doing a proper paper by themselves without any help except for a clueless lecturer who just got his doctorate course completed.

I was thinking that a popular local movie, which was nominated as the national movie of the year in 2012 (called "Mushrooming"), would be an interesting subject, but I have no idea on how to approach a movie with a prewritten plot (as in it is not a documentary about real life events) sociologically. I did a brief presentation about my idea and what resonated the most from the feedback I got is that my idea is detached from society as in it is not sociological because of a lack of linkage to a certain pre-proposed theory by someone before me.

I actually have a fairly straightforward question to put forth: How can I write a short paper on an enacted screenplay and do it sociologically, tying it to a theory?

I'm not familiar with the film, so I read a review or two online. Apart from the metaphorical value of a politician, who is accustomed to being 'handled', getting lost in the woods, where he must rely on his own originality and wit, it seems to me that the most sociological component of the narrative concerns reputation/image making, maintenance and repair. Unless your paper must offer a sociological analysis of a film, I would consider writing instead something on the sociology of reputation-making and management. Regarding that subject, you might wish to look at some of Gary A. Fine's work (http://www.sociology.northwestern.edu/people/faculty/gary-alan-fine.html). There is a lot of literature on image repair in communications journals, too, some of it more sociological, which may be of value to your endeavor.