New member, many questions

Hi all,

I'm hoping to apply to PhD programs for Comp and Rhetoric in the fall and I'm wondering about some of your experiences and backgrounds. I have an MFA and a Master's of Science in Secondary Education--I currently teach high school English. Before earning my second master's I adjuncted in creative writing, literature, and composition for about five years. I am hoping to return to college teaching by earning a PhD in Comp and Rhetoric. The programs I'm planning to apply for are all joint MA/PhD programs. What I'm wondering is whether I need to have as much focus and background (as demonstrated by coursework, writing samples, statement of purpose, recs, etc.) in comp and rhetoric going into what is essentially an MA program as I would for a PhD application. Also, do any of you have a similarly interdisciplinary background, and if so, how are you dealing with honing your application to emphasize a focus? Another question: what is the word on old GRE scores? How recent should my tests be? And last, does anyone out there have any experience meeting with faculty at prospective colleges to answer these kinds of questions?...

Thanks all!

Hi there! I recently applied and was accepted to PhD programs in Rhet/Comp. My BA and MA are both in English; however, my emphasis was in Literature, so I was/am definitely a rhet/comp newbie. In fact, I had taken only one comp course at the time I applied. Still, I got into five awesome programs. My not-so-secret secret? In my SoP, I framed my literary research in a way that focused on the more theoretical aspects, the same theoretical concerns I plan on researching once I am in a rhet/comp program. Furthermore, I explained how my work had led me to rhet/comp, and I stressed my teaching experience. Fortunately, I had a writing sample from a lit course that, while focusing on literary works, asked questions about gender, disability, and writing.