suggestions for analytical writing and reading comprehension

vector

Hi guys, I'm new in this forum, hope some of you will help! I'm preparing my GRE test for admittance to a PHD program in USA? As italian speaking native language GRE for me is going to be very hard, especially on reading comprehension test. Who of you has any suggestion to better improve scores on both reading and analytical writings? thanx guys!

Hi there, Vector.  Improving the Reading Comprehension and Essay scores are the most difficult, even for native speakers, but here are a few suggestions off the cuff:

1.  If possible, give yourself at least 3 months of focused study, and don't expect to see immediate results - esp. on Reading Comp.  Honestly, I have a great deal of difficulty with these, too, and I'm a writer!  My personal strategy now is to make up for my weak Reading Comp with excellent vocabulary.  This is the only thing keeping my Verbal score above the 80th percentile right now.  Although I do still hope to pull the Reading Comp up, I am not counting on it, as I've been actively studying for over 3 months and am taking the test in 3 weeks.  I recommend www.vocabulary.com for boning up on vocab - it has helped me a lot and makes learning a bit more fun. 

2.  Reading Comp:  I've experimented with different strategies, including saving all the R.C. questions for last, reading thoroughly and taking notes, outlining the passage as I read, skimming instead of reading, looking for answers in the passage instead of reading the whole thing, etc.  You may want to experiment to see what works best for you.

-    Process of Elimination is the most helpful.  You can eliminate the obviously wrong answers this way.  Ultimately, though, you 

are likely to come down to 2 answers that seem equally correct, but at least this gives you a 50/50 chance. 

-    This may seem obvious, but find the words used in the question in the passage.  Then read two sentences before and after