are certification programs a waste of time?

Hello, 

I guess I have a few questions and am kind of in a state of uncertainty. But first, a little bit of background on me...

I graduated college with a degree in sociology / poli sci, moved to egypt for 6 months to study arabic and write about the political transition / elections in the country, moved back home to Chicago, and am now working for an insurance company.  In the 10 months i have been here, I am already being groomed for upper management, something that makes me quite flattered.  This, however, is not my desired life.

I have been wanting to get into the international affairs scene for ages now.  I suppose my desired "end game" would be working in diplomacy with the state dept or consulting in intelligence / political affairs for the government.  Obviously these are competitive end games, but that will not deter me from trying.

I noticed that Texas A&M has a certificate program in international affairs that seemed quite nice.  I figured that signing up for such a program would be a benefit to my resume and would still allow me to continue working where I am at.  Problem is, various professors have told me that certificate programs are a waste of time and that most MA/MS programs in international relations prefer students with relevant work experience and only take a select minority without it.  Also, they are typically leery of certificate programs, as the courses may not transfer as easily as indicated at the outset - particularly if one ends up trying to get credit from another institution.

So after hearing this news from 3 professors, I feel at a loss I suppose.  I would not feel right quitting my job to move somewhere to go to school (if getting a masters, I would greatly prefer going to somewhere in DC since that is where the contacts primarilly are.).  If I was to move, how would I afford to live without a job?  These are the issues I have I suppose.