Recommendations on schools?

philstudent1991

3.9 GPA (4.0 in philosophy) coming from a big state school, will have great LORs and writing sample, GRE will probably be in the 320-322 range (90th + percentile V, 70ish percentile Q). Interests are ethics and continental. Terminal MA and PhD programs. I'm definitely looking for ranked schools. not Harvard or NYU or anything, but competitive schools with good placement. any thoughts? Thanks guys

AH! A fellow lover of Nietzsche! I'm doing my thesis on identity in "Thus Spoke Zarathustra". Anyway, tomjonesy517 and I have been talking on the other thread, and I think that I've come to the conclusion that you should apply to a mix of PGR ranked programs (just because they have better graduate placement and more resources and such) and heavily continental schools. I like the idea of keeping my options open. tomjonesy517 suggested Fordham and Stony Brook to me, and I think those are definitely good options, but I'm also applying to traditionally analytic programs with some good Nietzsche scholars sprinkled in. Kathleen Higgins is wonderful, and she's at UT Austin, a highly ranked program on the PGR. Also, U College London has a few Nietzsche and Sartre people. 

I think it's also important to have in mind that the way Nietzsche is handled in continental v. analytic schools is very different. People talk about there being no true difference between analytic v. continental, but the effacement of actual differences is just another way of silencing particular modes of thought as poorly done. See: http://fordham.bepress.com/phil_babich/6/

It's also important to keep in mind that you want to be surrounded by people who aren't going to ridicule your major interests. There are some topics you can touch in the analytic appropriation of Nietzsche, and some that will get you laughed at.

Edited by tomjonesy517