Funding stress

niceweather

I am now halfway through my PhD coursework that started last summer. Just to let you know, I am a social scientist.

At the time of application, it was promised on the website that every individual admitted would receive a four year funding package but I was excluded from the benefit. I was the ONLY one excluded.

I've tried to build connections with the professors and asked them to consider hiring me as a research assistant if any but the reality was more cruel than I had expected - they all acted as if they had no opportunities at all while asking around other students mostly from my cohort if they would like to join the project(s).

Then I started getting panic attacks due to this. I am an international student and relocating to where I am right now after spending my entire life in my home country was tougher than those who had resided in the States beforehand. But those I called advisers were so involuntary and passive. One of them still asks me what my "major" is and the school I graduated from after seeing me for more than four times during the last 10 months and reading through my CV at least 3 times and the other has obviously been violating the HIPAA. 

The situation has no sign of getting any better. I feel like wanting to die from time to time and have been meeting with a campus consultant but no big success. Every faculty member and staff irresponsibly tells me to meet with someone else and this cycle repeats itself. It is very sad that I have no one to talk to in the school.. I am losing appetite and confidence. 

Edited by niceweather

I am sorry to hear that. Is there a program advisor you can talk to? You know, a faculty member in charge of the doctoral program?