Applying This Fall/Winter - Questions

Hello,

I'm planning on taking the GRE soon and applying to PhD sociology programs later this year, and I had a few questions I was hoping you might help me address. Sorry if this is long, but I figure the more you know, the more you might be able to help.

Real quick a bit about me. I graduated in May 2012 after studying Anthro and Peace Studies (major and supplementary major respectively) at Notre Dame. I will be the first to admit (and regret) that my classes weren't as high a priority for me as they should have been, and I didn't consider grad school until late in my senior year. I had a 3.3 cumulative and no real research/thesis/work with a professor. Over the past year I've been teaching preschool as a year of service, and am still figuring out what I'll do until grad school, and am strongly considering travelling. I know that's probably not great experience, but my time off has really helped me hone what I want to be pursuing. I have been pretty active about reading articles, researching grad school through this forum, grad school rulez, talking to past professors, etc, so I feel like I know what I' getting into and how to get there, but I still have a few questions.

Do you have any ideas on how I can bolster my application in the time I have? I am preparing for the GRE, and generally do well on standardized tests, so that should be ok, but specifically I'm worried about my lack of research, what to do for a writing sample, the feeling I can only really get one great LOR (I really regret not forming better relationships with professors), and my GPA. (As a side note, is there a good way to go about asking a professor for a LOR who you didn't know outside of class?) I wish there was a way I could get into some research in my off time.