How selective are CMU, GATech, Stanford, and Penn for non-CS Majors

cinoadam

Hi all,

I graduated with a business degree, and I'm interested in going for an MS in Computer Science.  I found that CMU, Stanford, GaTech and Upenn don't require a bachelors in CS for admissions.  But I was wondering, is it very hard for non-CS majors to get  admitted ?I personally haven't taken any CS courses, and I only took up to Calculus 2.  And whats worse is that I got a D in Calc 2.

Those are all top CS programs, except for maybe GT. With your qualifications, I would

say it is nearly impossible that you are accepted. You may find it tough to get accepted into

most programs. Most successful applicants with a non cs background typically have a 

degree in a field more tangentially related, and have significant experience in computer

science, usually in the form of a minor. They also look heavily upon your math background,

which by your description doesn't seem to be very strong. If you want to improve your 

chances for a CSMS program, you should probably take, at least:

CS - Intro, Data Structures, Algorithm Analysis, Finite Automata, Object Oriented Design, Computer Architecture

Math - Discrete Math, Multivariable Calculus, Linear Algebra, Differential Equations

A strong showing in these classes would make you a much more viable candidate.

Best of luck in your future endeavors. 

Edited by gnufoo

• 3 weeks later...

You have a good chance of being accepted to Penn's MCIT program. The MCIT program is specifically meant for people who do not have a Bachelor Degree in CS. There are other similar programs like MCIT at Carnegie Mellon and Brandeis University. It doesn't matter if you have absolutely no programming experience. Your undergrad GPA, your GRE scores, your personal statement, and recommendation letters will determine whether you get in. 

• 2 months later...