Admissions Question, Fall 2014: Contacting the Department

chagallgal

I'm new here, and was hoping for a little feedback about admissions etiquette.... from past, current, or hopeful gradate students. Thanks in advance, as anything will help : )

Some background for my question:
I am currently in the throws of choosing grad programs for Fall 2014. I'm also in the middle of choosing my writing sample, studying for the GREs, and writing my letters asking for recommendations, among other lovely tasks : )

I've been concerned about applying, since my undergraduate GPA is considerably lower than most average students admitted. It was the result of a horribly bad semester, and my GPA steadily grew every semester following. I studied abroad for a year, completed an internship, and excelled in higher level courses. It's also been 4 years since graduation, and I've taken that time to be sure that this is what I want- and that I will be fully dedicated. I'm also not focusing on top schools, as I doubt they'd look past this GPA.

Question:

I've contacted a couple of the schools to ask a few questions about their programs (tuition, fellowships, part time vs. full time, etc.), as well as describing myself a bit. With that, I have asked if I have a chance in being admitted, or what I can do to help my application shine through the low GPA (extra letters, interview, etc.). Unfortunately, I have not heard back from any of the schools for weeks, and I am not sure if I need to take the questions directly to the department. Are those questions a burden/inappropriate to send to the department? In other words, what questions ARE appropriate to direct to the department?

Thanks again, and to anyone reading this, good luck with your applications!