Science and Engineering Education

rsenk326

Hey all, I was hoping to get a little advice from this wonderful forum. I have stumbled across a few science education related threads, but had a few questions myself that I was hoping to get a little input on.

I'm majoring in physics at a large public school and will be graduating in the upcoming spring. I have had my heart set on graduate school, but I have been more and more leaning towards science or engineering education as my path, so much so that I don't plan on applying to any physics/astronomy programs.

I will be in my fourth year working for my school's engineering education department (one of very few in the country) and have pretty good connection there. I am currently in an internship at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, and I am planning on talking to Dr Phil Sadler when here and possibly a few other faculty in the science education field.

I am planning on going for my phd, but I don't have much experience with science education research (I'm more familiar with engineering education and will be doing research in the field in the fall, I'm assuming the two fields don't differ very much).

I am planning on applying to HGSE, Purdue's engineering education program, Berkley, and Michigan, but I am not sure what other schools to look at. I was wondering if anybody had an idea of other good (or even mediocre) science or engineering education phd programs, or had an idea of any specific journals or papers I should look in to.

Thanks so much!

I am planning on going for my phd, but I don't have much experience with science education research (I'm more familiar with engineering education and will be doing research in the field in the fall, I'm assuming the two fields don't differ very much).