Converting MS to PhD

abcd1

Hello,

I am about to start my masters in biology and wanted to know if it is possible or normal for a student to convert a thesis based ms degree into a phd at US universities. I will certainly ask this question from my advisor soon but just wanted some general feedback for now.

First a little background. I always wanted to go for Phd but because I have a bachelors degree completed unrelated to biology and have got a scholarship for masters, I decided to go the ms route. Since I have already wasted a lot of time and am getting a little overage I am thinking that completing an ms in 2 years and then a phd in 4 to 5 years is a bit too long. What I therefore want to know is:

- Is it possible for me to convert my ms thesis to phd so I can save a couple of years?

- Does this usually happen at the beginning of the ms or after the completion of ms degree?

- If I dont covert and go for phd after completing ms will some of my credits be transferred to reduce the duration of the phd?

I was wondering if I should discuss this with my advisor right away or wait a semester or two . If anyone has any experience of doing this I would appreciate your feedback.

Thanks  

• 3 weeks later...

This likely depends on your department. If you secure 3 years of funding (e.g., through a fellowship), it is not uncommon to convert. If you know you want a Ph.D. and you want it as fast as possible, I don't think there's much of a reason to get the MS.

Edited by Jimbo2

• 4 weeks later...

Talking to a previous Chemistry Department Chair, I learned that an M.S. usually does not waive classes for a Ph.D. Talking to a doctoral candidate in biochemistry, I learned that his M.S. did little for his Ph.D. education. I do find it conceivable to finish a Ph.D. earlier if you work in the same lab, and have your research going on for a few years, then you may publish sooner.

• 1 month later...