A rising senior-- which institution is best for neuroendocrinology biochemistry?

hihan

Hello, I'm a minority female student who has just recently turned my future directions to follow a PhD program in neuroendocrinology/ molecular mechanisms. I am a rising senior and all this time I was planning on doing med school but my international status is making it really difficult. So, I decided to chase my other passion- research. . I have some ideas of where to look since talking to my PI but it's difficult to gauge where I lie in the GPA/experience spectrum amongst all other doctoral applicants.

So here are my stats:

Undergrad institution:

College of William and Mary in VA(ranks as one of the top 10 public ivy schools) 

major: Biology/almost done with my Chemistry minor

GPA: 3.45 (I will try really hard next fall to raise it up to 3.5) this is pretty low and makes me question my application competancy :(

Research exp:

1 yr in virology

1 yr in molecular developmental lab

will finish up with 2 years in reproductive neuroendocrinology lab at the end of my 4th year which I found out is my love and passion

TA for chemistry my senior year

awards/honors:

dean's list 3 times (past 3 years but I am planning on making two more next year)

summer research scholarship

will have finished an honors thesis on reproductive neuroendoc at the end of my senior year

rec letters:

I know my PI will have a phenomenal letter for me because i have developed a new technique for the lab to use/ put in lots of time for the lab

GRE:

I haven't taken it yet... :(

So far with the stats, where can I apply with good chances? I would hate to overshoot for schools and not get into any programs :(

Thank you for your time!!

Edited by hihan

Don't gauge schools by you can get in / won't get in, there are a million other better factors to consider.