Speech Pathology Master's Program Aspirations - 2nd Career - Low Undergrad GPA (2.5) 14 Years Ago - MBA 4.0 GPA - Is This Realistic?

Hello,

I am a 37 year old male who eagerly wants to change careers from business administration to speech pathology.  I graduated in 1999 with a lousy GPA of 2.45.  Yes, very embarrassing... 

In the past 14 years I have excelled in business and hold an executive administrative position in the medical field.  I completed an Executive Master of Business Administration (GPA 4.0) a few years back.  I plan on obtaining a 2nd bachelor's degree in speech pathology and maintaining as close to a 4.0 GPA as I can.  I am also studying for the GRE and plan on doing well.  

My friends think I'm crazy as I am very well compensated in my current position and would be taking a major reduction in remuneration to change careers.  I am at a stage in life where I want to pursue my passion, not dollars.

I would appreciate any feedback as to how realistic it would be for me to get into a program.  I am determined; however, I am also a realist and know that admission into advanced degree programs can be VERY competitive.  

Thank you for your consideration.

Edited by JES3

It seems like you'll be prepared for the numbers portion of the application but do you have SLP-related experience? I think passion and experience play a big part, especially for students who have embarrassing GPAs or are coming in without a background in SLP.

I was in a similar situation.  I had a undergrad degree with a sub 3.0, and a Master's degree with a very good G.P.A.  My GRE scores were decent (155, 153).  I applied to six grad schools this past year, and was admitted into two of them.  I would recommend against doing another Bachelor's degree, and instead apply to a post-bacc program.  Most schools only require about 7-10 classes for admission consideration.  A second bachelor's degree isn't necessary.  

• 2 weeks later...

Dibbels81,