Recovering from bad impressions with potential advisers

Hi, just discovered these forums, and boy am I glad! I desperately need to vent!

So I am just about to start my PhD program in biology at a school that I chose not because of any faculty member in particular, but because is a strong academic community for the sub-field I'm interested in. Because my interests tend to be more theoretical, and not limited to specific species, I'm allowing our required lab rotations to help me make a decision on an adviser.

I contacted a professor that was particularly appealing because much of their research has applied health uses, and got a positive response with a question about what specifically I wanted to work on. In an attempt to impress him, I looked at recent publications and tried to take the "next step" theoretically, and sent a skeleton proposal of something I could investigate while in his lab. That was a mistake.

You see, while I have extensive knowledge in evolutionary theory, my knowledge is not specialized in too many specific species (his lab has things that I've never worked on before and am vaguely familiar with).This ended up making my proposal sound pretty awful, and the prof didn't pull any punches in explaining that to me. While not particularly rude in his response, the tone of his message was clearly very annoyed, as if i was just wasting his time. He suggests just throwing me on an ongoing project (which is just what I wanted in the first place).

Now I feel like I screwed up an opportunity with a potential adviser (out of the the faculty I could see myself working with, he ranked no.1) and I can't help but get this panicky feeling that I messed up a big opportunity. Anyone have similar bad impressions, but turned out all right? Could really use a couple stories like that right about now.