Having Universities come to you

Nemtriosk

Hey,

I honestly have no clue how to search for something like this which would normally be my first approach.  I know a few people that found the schools they ended up going to for grad studies by registering in some particular forum or website, having their information online, and then certain schools if interested are allowed to contact these students to advertise their programs and see if the student has any questions.  Unfortunately I have no idea of where to find one of these, or what search terms to use, but has anyone ever heard of them?  It sounds perfect for finding schools that are good, but don't reach it into the billion top 50 lists of MIT's and Caltechs of the world.  It's sort of an outreach program I guess?

Any help would be appreciated.

If it helps I'm trying for either biophysics (tentative since all bio and physics is self-taught and shaky) or materials science (my background) in either bioengineering/mimicry of materials, or nanofabrication.  But honestly this would be a good enough resource for anyone that it'd be cool to know about things for other fields as well.

Thanks!

This isn't how it works, especially in the physics field. Most physics schools, especially not the Caltechs and MITs of the world, are not going to actively recruit students in this manner (that is, personally inviting you to apply) because, well, they don't need to.

One common way that prospective students do get advertisements from graduate programs is through ETS. When you register for the GRE, you can check a box that makes it sound like you will get information about graduate programs that might be of interest to you. However, what really happens is that you get on a mailing list for a mostly spam. All of the "graduate school info" I got turned out to be spam advertising programs completely out of my field (e.g. MBA programs when I wrote the Physics GRE and indicated that I was interested in Physics programs).