bad grades should we justify? linguistics/literature

Do we include an explanation for bad grades in SOP? 

My GPA is 3.39 

Most of my grades are inconsistent like I have courses with 99, 92, 88,....then 66  :(

My major was literature and I took about 4 courses in linguistics. 

These 4 courses also range from the highest 98 to  the lowest 76 ! 

I'm applying to  a Master's program in linguistics. 

Should I mention something about my grades? 

When I was an undergrad, my nephew was kidnapped and I was a witness in a trial outside my home country. 

Is this something I should mention? 

P.s. my nephew is back with his mom now after being away from her since the age of 1 month to 5 years !

Great news about your nephew!

Normally I don't support addressing academic difficulties in your SOP.... but admittedly yours are outside the realm of what we encounter here. 

Can you address those deficiencies briefly? As in, one or two sentences.

I'd suggest writing an outline of your SOP - if including that information throws off the overall theme of your SOP, leave it out.

I applied to my PhD programs with an F in an undergraduate literate course. I never explained it in my application materials. Actually, I never explained it.