PhD in developmental biology

shadowxx

Hi All, Pleasure to join such a great community!

I graduated with a bachelors in Chemistry and Biochemistry in 2006 with a GPA of 3.8 and had one paper accepted (2nd author). I applied to several biology schools but was rejecting because of a low GRE.

Now I am applied in a master's program in synthetic organic chemistry. I am planning on graduating a masters from this program with 3 papers (two 2nd author and one 1st author). I am planning on applying to several developmental biology programs for the fall '10 semester. I am also preparring to study for the GRE again.

These are the schools that I am currently intersted in:

1.) Sloan Kettering Program in Cancer biology

http://www.sloankettering.edu/gerstner/html/50725.cfm

2.) Columbia program in Developmental biology

http://www.cumc.columbia.edu/dept/gsas/ ... frame.html

3.) NYU program in Developmental Genetics

http://saturn.med.nyu.edu/research/dg/

4.) Princeton Developmental Biology

http://www.molbio.princeton.edu/index.p ... &Itemid=73

Does anyone know what kind of GRE sccore would have to get to be competitive for these programs? Does anyone have any suggestions about other programs in developmental biology in NYC, NJ area?

Thanks!

Shadowxx

So are you saying that taking the GRE again is not neccessary? My orginial scores were quite poor.

I must say that I've never heard of an applicant being rejected due solely to his/her GRE score being too low. Did the programs you previously applied to actually tell you that your GRE score was the sole reason they didn't accept you? Or are you just assuming that you were rejected because of your GRE score?

I must say that I've never heard of an applicant being rejected due solely to his/her GRE score being too low. Did the programs you previously applied to actually tell you that your GRE score was the sole reason they didn't accept you? Or are you just assuming that you were rejected because of your GRE score?