MA in Philosophy: One year of two years?

DoubleHelixx

Hi all, 

I'm considering programs in philosophy at the master's level. I'm looking at schools in Canada (where I'm from) because the funding situation for MA's is better here, and I did not write the GRE so schools in the US are out of reach. 

I majored in philosophy as an undergraduate and graduated with top grades. However, I want to pursue an MA because I want to study a certain subject area of philosophy and the undergraduate institution I attended did not offer enough courses in that area. So, I feel like my application will be weak if I apply straight to PhD programs because I have not done enough work in this area. Also, my undergraduate institution does not have the strongest reputation but graduates from here have gone on to top philosophy programs. 

I eventually want to gain admission into a well-respected PhD program. My question is: will a one year MA or a two year MA be more beneficial for me in the long run if my end goal is a PhD? Most of the top MA programs here offer one year MAs, with the exception of SFU. Some of the top schools offer two years, but it seems like they reserve it for those who did not study philosophy as an undergraduate. If I enter a one year MA and want to apply in the Fall 2014 for PhD programs, I won't have enough time to develop strong relationship with potential letter writers. If I do two years, the courses I take might not count towards course work in a PhD program. I'm really confused about this process and since funding deadlines and graduate school application deadlines are coming up, I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice on this matter? 

Thank you! 

Edited by slauren