I want to pursue a Masters, but how do I start looking?

kevy

Hi GradCafe,

I am a recent graduate and finally decided to pursue a masters in statistics for two reasons that everyone else probably has: 1) To learn more,and 2) To get a job. The problem is that I don't even know how to begin researching this topic aside from awkwardly phrased Google searches. After searching for applied statistics program, I was completely overwhelmed by the different types of programs. Some are geared towards business, others are categorized as a vague "data analytic". I also noticed some programs that focuses solely on big data/machine learning. I am actually very interested in this topic because of a multivariate analysis class I have taken before(it covered a small part of machine learning only because we went beyond the curriculum). Yet, I feel that I am under-qualified due to not having a CS background aside from the statistical programs and 1 or 2 languages I learned from previous required classes. So I ask of you guys, so given my profile below what are some schools/programs I should look into? Since I could always just look up ranked schools, what would be some safety schools that you would suggest for me? What are some universities with a diverse statistics department, since I feel like I should explore a bit)

School: University of California, Davis 3.66/4.00

Major: Applied Statistics/ Psychology

(Note: Just took the GRE again, and so these are the projected scores I got at the end of the test...Hopefully not too much changes)

GRE: Q: 164 V: 157 W:???Maybe 4.0? I got a 4.0 last time?

(Note: I know my math is a bit lacking hence why I am looking into more practical rather than theoretical programs. Though, I did picked up some mathematical concepts along the way. )

Courses Taken:

Multivariate Data Analysis

Causual Model Correlation Data

SAS Programming

Introduction to Probability Theory

Introduction to Mathematical Statistics

Applied Time Series Analysis