Yale or Stanford?

ep2175

in need of some advice here. i'm studying ethnic politics & violence (focused on the middle east), and trying to decide between stanford and yale.

at this point i have visited both schools, and liked both - though they are very, very different programs and departments. perhaps some of you can help me wade through the pros/cons of it all? part of the issue is that when i visited stanford, most of the faculty who i'd be working with was away (david laitin, lisa blaydes, jeremy weinstein) -- so i only have other peoples' opinions to go off of. when i visited yale, i met with almost everyone i have an interest in working with, including some leading political theorists (i found stanford a bit lacking in the realm of theory, but i might be wrong).

people out there who know the program at stanford - what do you think?

those who know yale - what do you think?

some details that might help on the feedback front - i do not have a background in political science (i studied area studies), so at this point i am very open methodologically. i'm interested in learning the whole range of tools, but i just don't want to get stuck somewhere that is dogmatic about the discipline (which is what i've heard from some about stanford).

I don't know much about Yale on ethnic violence and civil war, but I know Fearon and Laitin at Stanford are pretty awesome in this area (though from a very quantitative perspective, esp. Fearon). Yale has a better reputation for political theory overall probably, but I don't think either faculty is clearly better at the moment. I'd say it depends on interests. If you're more interested in continental philosophy, critical theory, Straussianism, or early modern/modern political thought then Yale is better. However, if you're interested in analytic/liberal approaches, ancient political thought, or American political thought, then Stanford is better.