Considering Pursuing Career in Conference/Medical Interpreting

coupdegrace

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here. I haven't found any threads about interpreting programs, so I wanted to ask a few questions.

I graduated from Texas A&M in 2012 with a B.A. double major in International Politics and Diplomacy and French Language and Literature. I was fortunate to do two internships back to back at the U.S. Embassy in Paris last year immediately after graduating (spending three months with the State Department and four months with the Foreign Commercial Service). As much as I enjoyed and learned from the experience, I also decided that a career in the Foreign Service is not for me.

I have been living at home this past year, working two part-time jobs and feeling rather stuck but considering what I would like to do. I have always been enthralled by languages and all things linguistic, and I know I want to put my French-English-Spanish skills to use in my work. Thus, I have started researching graduate programs in conference interpreting.

It sounds like a stressful but stimulating field, perfect for someone like me who needs to work with people to an extent but who is sick of working with the public in customer service. I'm also someone who cherishes his alone time, but I know I also don't want to be completely isolated in my own office for my work. So interpreting seems like a good balance of office/administrative work mixed with human interaction.

I discovered that it might actually be cheaper overall for me to pursue a degree at a European institution such as the Sorbonne in Paris or the University of Geneva rather than paying the exorbitant tuition at an American university. Additionally, being based in Europe seems like it would lend itself to better job/networking opportunities for that field than remaining in the United States.

My dilemma is this: