Current Chicago Harris student

harrista

Aaah so many memories of spending vast amounts of time on Gradcafe this time last year.  I found these fora to be such a valuable resource when deciding where to apply especially as I couldn't do any campus visits, so I'm back to answer any questions you might have about life as an MPP student at the University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy.  Anything you want to know, please ask away!  Or PM if you want to ask privately.  

• 4 weeks later...

Hi I would like to apply in the Harris School in the program MS Envi.Sci/Policy. I am an International Student and my profile is:

GRE: 153V, 162Q, 3.0 AWA

TOEFL: 107 (27R, 25L, 27S, 28W)

Past Education: Undergrad - Engineering and Graduate - Masters in Environmental Management

Work Experience: Full time in an International NGO in the area of Natural Resource Management, Environment and Development

Volunteer Experience: 1 year with ingenious tribal groups

Please let me What you think about chance as per my profile? 

Hi makhan09, welcome to gradcafe!  

Unfortunately I can't comment on your likelihood of getting in... I honestly have no idea what my classmates' test scores etc are like, although the vast majority have at least a couple of years of work experience.  You could check out the Harris website which has the 2012 class profile on it and apparently the 2013 profile is coming soon which might be helpful.  There's a huge amount of diversity amongst our class including people aiming to focus on environmental policy.  

If you have specific questions for someone who might have a similar background, you can check out Team Harris and get in touch with someone who shares your areas of interest.  You could always try getting in touch with the director of admissions if you have admissions-related enquiries.  

Good luck! 

Sorry, wrong link: this is the class profile: http://harrisschool.uchicago.edu/admissions-and-aid

Average GPA: 3.6 (out of 4.0)