CV or Resume

cww

When applying to graduate schools, is a CV or resume better?  Or does it totally depend on this situation?

I'm an undergrad applying to biology PhD programs.  My resume is one page and pretty strong.  I feel that with the added space in my CV I was able to elaborate further and touch on things outside my biology related experience such as leadership roles and my involvement in organizational leadership programs.

The only downside with the CV is that it is 2 pages vs 1 for a resume.  Will this be extra and not read as close, or do you think the extra information will help me?

Thanks!

They usually ask specfically for one or the other. As for length.. it's still not a normal resume. They'll want to see your experience in the field even if it doesnt fit on a single page or even two.

It's not a job application where someone is looking over resumes and quickly sorting out "maybes" and "no's" and a multi-page is seen as an act of disobedience. Moreso they get to your resume after they've possibly cut you for your grades, scores, or SOP.

Say everything that needs to be said and never assume a title or position will be universally seen as having equal weight between programs. A functional resume that is still more brief than a CV will help do this. Explaining what you involvement and role was in concise terms. Resumes still allow for the omission - unrelated study, work, etc.. can be left out. A CV is expected to attest to your entire academic career and account for all periods of time in detail.

I could be horrifically wrong, but regardless, prepare whatever the program asks for. Some want a short 1 page resume. Some want the modified longer resume, some want a CV that only focuses on your field, others want a CV that's all encompassing. Read the prompt carefully, give them what they ask for.