What's the best way to tell my advisor...?

I am currently in my second year of a three year Masters program. I made in clear in my entrance interview that I would eventually be looking for a PhD. But now I am thinking it's time that I perhaps make that sentiment a bit more clear to my advisor. I would love to stay here, in my program, to complete my PhD research. I feel pretty comfortable in saying that I think my advisor acknowledges that I am a hard working student, and that I would do well in a PhD position here in the same line of research that I am currently finishing my Masters in.

I know the professors that are involved in my lab typically receive several applications for graduate students every year. Currently, all students in the lab are Masters students. I have gotten wind of the idea that they are looking to admit a PhD student next year (during which I'll be writing my manuscript). What is the best way to suggest to my advisor (and my committee) that I will be looking for a PhD position after I complete my Masters, and that I would much prefer to stay right where I am? I'd love to get right to work after finishing my thesis. I want to be upfront and assertive about it, because let's face it...that is how you get places in graduate school. But I also don't want to come across the wrong way. Suggestions???

I would love to stay here, in my program, to complete my PhD research. I feel pretty comfortable in saying that I think my advisor acknowledges that I am a hard working student, and that I would do well in a PhD position here in the same line of research that I am currently finishing my Masters in.