GRE Preparation

Happydays2

Did anyone here study for the GRE? I'm looking into studying for it (I'm applying 2014-2015). Anyone recommend any particularly helpful book/online prep? I'm stronger in the Math section then Verbal section :( , any verbal recommendations? Also did any of you follow any particular schedule (e.g. 1hr a day Mon-Fri). Any and all advice is much appreciated! :)

Edited by Happydays2

I studied a bit, but I wish I would have studied more. I used Magoosh (it's online with video tutorials and tons of practice questions), which I found to be really helpful and my results from the several practice tests I took were pretty accurate to my official scores. 

I studied a bit, but I wish I would have studied more.

Same. Better scores might have helped my application some, but it's a bit late now. At any rate, I used Princeton Review's GRE Prep Book. It was pretty good, and the Verbal prep was really well done. It also had various studying strategies and such to help you get the most out of the book.

The Official ETS book and Kaplan are both good. The online portion of Kaplan has a lot of practice tests. Take as many practice tests as you can and memorize vocab. Really focus on vocab. Don't slack on the analytic writing section, practice that and have someone give you feedback on your practice essays.

I studied for 3 months over the summer for 1-2 hours a day doing all of the above and got a score in the 99th percentile for Verbal. I also kept a stack of vocab flash cards (also by Kaplan) with me most of the time and flipped through them when I had nothing else to do.

Thank you everyone for the relpies/suggestions :) 

I used Princeton Review's GRE Prep Book. It was pretty good, and the Verbal prep was really well done.

Is there a specific verion you used? Was it this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Cracking-Practice-Edition-Graduate-Preparation/dp/0307945634