Masters grade on CV?

s2k

Hi everyone,

I am compiling my CV for the first time, and I was wondering, should you put your grades on there? I'm assuming cumulative GPA, under masters heading (I'm in my third year, now working on comp exams)? But also what can you do with your grade on your actual masters thesis? 

I did get an A+ on my masters, but no one told me if this constitutes any sort of 'mention' or 'honors' - should I just ask my graduate advisor, just list my grade, or put nothing? I don't want to come across as tacky - above all!!

Wouldn't all of this appear on your transcript? I did not include any sort of GPA on my CVs--for each school, I just listed the degree name, my thesis title and my supervisor's name.

I only got a letter grade for my undergrad thesis course (there was a course coordinator and we were graded on quality of writing and presentation during our proposal writeup, proposal defense, mid-year report talk, final defense/talk, and final written thesis). All my other thesis research courses were graded on a Pass/Fail basis.

ah true, I hadn't thought of the transcript.  the thing is, it is my thesis advisor who asked for my CV (in order to write a rec) and he didn't advise me on my masters…. sooo I essentially wanted to impress him, since I asked him if he wanted to see my transcript and he waived his hand and said it wasn't necessary.  eh, it is the same department, so maybe he knows already? my graduate advisor told me she'd never heard of anyone else getting an a+

but yeah I don't know why we get grades for these things, we also get a grade on our comp exams.