Length of PhD program

Kleene

The length of a PhD program varies throughout the academic world. In the UK 3 years is about the norm, whereas the program takes 5 years in the US. Would this difference show in the quality of the thesis or the 'prestige' of the degree? I know that a PhD in the UK is usually more specialized than in the US, not requiring things as foreign language studies etc.

1) For the most part, UK Phds require a masters for admittance, while US Phds do not (it may help though).  Depending on the length of the masters degree that narrows the time difference to 1 year (for a 1 year masters) to nothing (for a 2 year masters)

2)That said, US Phds can often take longer than 5 years.

3) Foreign language requirements?  No idea what you mean by this. As a US Phd student I have not taken any courses outside of my general field.

In the end, what matters is the quality of YOUR work, not so much the program.  If you can do good, original research in a 3 year Phd, what difference does it make?

Edited by raneck

1) For the most part, UK Phds require a masters for admittance, while US Phds do not (it may help though).  Depending on the length of the masters degree that narrows the time difference to 1 year (for a 1 year masters) to nothing (for a 2 year masters)

2)That said, US Phds can often take longer than 5 years.

3) Foreign language requirements?  No idea what you mean by this. As a US Phd student I have not taken any courses outside of my general field.

In the end, what matters is the quality of YOUR work, not so much the program.  If you can do good, original research in a 3 year Phd, what difference does it make?

1+2) I applied to a course that takes 5-7 years, depending on whether you already have a master's degree. That would still leave a 2 year gap (assuming a 2 year master's).

3) Some US PhD programs require you to study a foreign language. Berkeley has some programs, for instance. I don't know any UK programs with such a requirement.