Questions about advisers in MIT's CSAIL

dirkhaim

I got into MIT and I am trying to decide between it and UW. The problem with my MIT application is that they assign you to an adviser in advance and he (or she) is in charge on your funding. Basically, it seems like my ass belongs to that particular professor and I am stuck with him.

The problem is that my personal impression from that particular professor is not very good. Ont he professional level he is really good, but on the personal level I am not sure it will be such a good match in the long run. I heard it's possible to switch advisers, but it's problematic with funding. Anyone here form MIT that can shed some light on my problem?

I will be happy to get some opinions about the professors there, but I prefer doing it in private messages. So PM me if you have you know the CSAIL professors well.

Thanks

Congratulations on getting accepted to MIT!

I do not go there but I am a grad student in EE so I will attempt to provide some advice. If there is a specific professor providing your funding at MIT and there is no guarantee from the school to provide you funding apart from that professor, then well, you have no guarantee =). You might be able to convince a different professor there to fund you. If you are a US citizen you could also apply for fellowships in your first year and get external funding that would conceivably enable you to work with a different professor.

This is an outcome of the extreme selectivity of MIT. They accept a small EECS class (~100) and have a very small student:faculty ratio. So the professors are basically handpicking students in many cases. Since they have loads of applicants with perfect grades, research experience, publications, and favorable recommendations, they lean heavily on fit. All engineering departments at all schools consider departmental fit in their selection process, but more so at the most selective schools.