Lost

SNPCracklePop

Hello everyone!  Quick background: I'm currently in my fourth year in a STEM field Ph.D. program, currently in my last semester of "Dissertation Research" credits and ABD.

On one hand, it has been a very productive three and a half years.  My advisor is ESL, so I've been actively involved in many grant applications and have 14 total publications in print with others at different stages in the preparation/publishing process.  In addition, I also spend a considerable amount of time proofreading correspondence and updating my advisor's website that I developed and launched.

That said, none of these efforts directly apply to my dissertation, which I would say is barely off the ground.  One manuscript that I am currently working on would serve as the first experimental paper for the dissertation (of most likely 3 total to graduate, in addition to a lit review that is not written yet).  Unfortunately, these side projects frequently take top priority over my own, which has become increasingly frustrating.  In addition, I have little confidence in my abilities in terms of the techniques used in the lab, due to little or no prior guidance/demonstrations, and this I feel is also hindering my own progress.