Chicago CIR Open House

s58

Hey,

If anyone attended the UChicago CIR Open House on the 6th, could they please share their experiences - what was their impression of the department, the faculty, preceptors, what the current students seemed to think about the program, the classes (if they attended any), the university etc? I'm an international student and therefore, couldn't make it to the Open House and I would really appreciate any inputs from those who attended it.

Thanks!

s58 e-mailed me for my opinion on the program (which is good, because I kept forgetting to reply to this thread >_>), but I figured I'd post my response on here as well in case anyone else wants to hear it.

"Of the campus itself, its quite nice. It's not particularly large; it has some 211 acres of land, but if you take a look at the map they provide, you'll see what that area equates to. Easily walked from one end to the other with no major concerns. The area gets a bit sketchy if you go too far north, south or east, but from my understanding its still quite safe, so long as you don't go where you shouldn't at times that are inherently questionable. I found this site to be a bit helpful in terms of what to expect from the area:

http://collegeprowler.com/university-of-chicago/

In terms of faculty, I mean, it depends on what you're looking for. Apparently Glaser is on his way out and Snidal might be doing the same, but you still have an excellent faculty in many respects. For me, at least, there are profs like Mearsheimer, Pape, and Lipson that make it worthwhile to head over there, but that's personal preference.