Math Educator's change of heart

ApplePi

I'm a resident of IL and have been most of my life. I received my undergrad in Math Education with the goal of being a high school teacher, but decided to hide out in a masters program for pure math while the State got its act together with common core implementation. Lately, through tutoring and mentoring, I've found that I really just can't stand teenagers, likely due to pushing 30 and having nothing in common with this new generation. I'm considering following up my masters work with a PhD and shooting for a professorship instead. I've since found out that this is exceedingly difficult to accomplish and wanted to know if anyone else around here has made a similar jump.

Academically, I've been a 4.0 student throughout but at a completely unranked school. College Rank didn't matter when I was thinking about high school, but I've realized that this is not the case for post secondary educators. So, with a "fourth tier" public school education and zero publications, what kind of PhD programs should I even be looking at? And more importantly, if a fourth tier school PhD is what I can attain, is it worth it to even attend? I'm in a kind of midlife crisis mode suddenly seeing that what I planned the last 6 years isn't what I want. Looking to maybe network with people who have had a similar experience who could offer advice.

Thanks

I get the impression that you want to be a professor so you can teach college students. Am I understanding you right?

To my understanding, it is rare to pursue a PhD in the goals of teaching. A PhD is a research degree and your primary passion and motivation in doing a PhD should be producing original research. Nothing against teaching students, but I wonder if having that as the primary motivation would be enough.