Another protocol question -- what if no faculty contact?

calartian

Do most of you have profs recruiting you or that have contact with you, who at least let you know the program is interested and why you should attend? I'm just wondering if my current experience is normal or abnormal. I have a first PhD offer, which was made early and enthusiastically by the grad coordinator (of the school, not the dept), but have to date heard nothing at all from the dept. itself. Of course I have to respond by 4/15 like everyone else, but as the money isn't great (all incoming get % of tuition and no stipend), I'm thinking that saying yes without knowing which specific profs showed interest in my app would be financial suicide -- I'm told that getting on a research project is the only other possibility for funding, and only after I get there. Nothing but the partial tuition fellowship is guaranteed in the future.

All I have been given is the contact info for the department head (and only after I pestered), so I'll be contacting her, but just seems...I dunno. Waiting for two other schools to respond as well, who will not by 4/15, so getting flustered about the lack of tangible love from the one who wants me outright, I suppose. But maybe I'm just being a big dork about the whole affair -- wouldn't be the first time. : )

That sounds a bit unusual. I think typically you should expect to hear from the graduate school and the department separately--both notifying you of admission, but the Department usually shares more specific information on the terms of the offer. My only guess that if you haven't heard about funding yet, maybe you are "wait listed" for funding, and thus they are waiting to see what will happen with the applicants who have already been offered funding. In short, I think it's smart of you to follow up with the Department Head. I haven't always heard from specific professors, but you should at least get some specifics from the Department Head.

Good luck!